Choko smoothies

One of the most important lessons I have learned over the last year is that of good post-training nutrition and hydration. It’s critical to get some good carbs and water in during the 45 minute window after your session. I’ve found that since I have improved my diet in this area, I recover better, have less soreness and generally feel better.

I have a few a couple of favourite post-training drinks that I enjoy, chocolate milk being one. Recently though I have started having smoothies because it is coming into summer and I prefer something a bit less milky than my chocky milk.  I also like the extra nutrients and fibre that you can include in your home made smoothies. My sister Nicole sent me an awesome recipe guide for green smoothies that got me started. I like it because it has a lot of options depending on how you are feeling or what you like to include in your drink. Image

Generally, I like to keep things really simple and don’t always find that I have the full range of ingredients for a lot of recipes. We often don’t have spinach for example or leafy greens, mainly because the boys are not super keen on eating them. For this recipe I use ingredients that I always have around. I planted a choko vine a couple of years ago and it is growing happily on my front fence so I always have a supply of nice green leaves. Choko leaves are not usually eaten (or are chokos so much any more). The leaves though are very eatable, high in fibre and full of nutrients. Plus the choko leaves give your smoothie that lovely shade of green that makes the drink look and seem healthy. I make this as soon as I get home from a run and drink it straight away.

Choko smoothie

  • 6 young choko leaves
  • One banana (frozen or from the fridge)
  • One green apple or pear (cold)
  • 250 mls of water.
  • 4 ice cubes.
  • You can add a scoop of protein, a handful of cashews or half a cup of oats want to boost the protein content. This will also give you a slightly thicker consistency in your drink.

Blend on speed 8 in your Thermomix or blender for about a minute. Drink and enjoy.

Image

I hope you enjoy the drink. Happy trails.

Leave a Reply

